Dr. Yvonne Gomez-Carrion is honored by the Massachusetts Medical Society with its 2018 LGBT Health Award

April 30, 2018

Dr. Yvonne Gomez-Carrion has been honored by the Massachusetts Medical Society as the 2018 recipient of the Society’s Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health Award, an honor recognizing an individual who has made outstanding contributions to LGBT health. 

Dr. Gomez-Carrion, a Newton resident, is an Assistant Professor in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Harvard Medical School and Director of the Ob/Gyn resident surgical service at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. 

Dr. Gomez-Carrion is renowned for her contributions to improvements in health care for the transgender community. Transgender patients and their partners flock to her practice to receive non-judgmental and affirming health care.

Read more here.


From the Closet to the Soapbox: The Fostering of Identity Exploration at Harvard Medical School

April 20, 2018

By Aliya Feroe

In the weeks preceding Harvard Medical School’s (HMS) Revisit Weekend 2018, the LGBTQ+ and Allies at HMS (LAHMS) group made a clear goal to host a memorable weekend with the goal of 100% matriculation of the admitted self-identified LGBTQ+ students. Despite being a co-chair of LAHMS, a point-person for queer women at HMS, and an openly Out member of the HMS Class of 2021 today, I continued to shock myself and all of the LAHMS co-planners this Revisit by the fact that I spent my own Revisit just last year crafting every excuse to avoid all LAHMS events—every excuse to conceal the importance of my LGBTQ+ identity from my new medical school classmates and faculty.... Read more about From the Closet to the Soapbox: The Fostering of Identity Exploration at Harvard Medical School


Dr. Alex Keuroghlian to receive Harvard Medical School Borus Award

April 2, 2018

Since 2011, The Jonathan F. Borus Outstanding Early Career Educator Award in medical student education has been awarded to a junior faculty member at Harvard Medical School who has demonstrated exceptional promise, initiative and commitment in the area of psychiatric education. The award is named in honor of Jonathan F. Borus MD, the Stanley Cobb Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, Emeritus Chair of Psychiatry at the Brigham and Women’s and Faulkner Hospitals, Director of Medical Education at BWH and Co-Chair of the Partners Education Committee.

Read more here.